Oct 31 2006

Bright Ideas

Faced with daunting technology challenges, these IT leaders formulated exceptional solutions.

Two recipients of the inaugural CDW•G IT Leadership Awards, presented for the innovative use of technology, are Margaret Krol of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Robin Manke-Cassidy of Arizona State University. The Pedagogy & IT Practice Awards will be highlighted in the August/September issue of EdTech.

The results of the inaugural CDW•G IT Leadership Awards are in, and the first two awards go to Margaret Krol, interim associate vice president, Administrative Information Technology Services, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and Robin Manke-Cassidy, technology support analyst, coordinator, University Technology Office, Arizona State University.

Krol’s award was for Best Business Case , and Manke-Cassidy’s was for IT Pop Quiz . The Pedagogy & IT Practice awards will be showcased in our August-September issue.

Krol’s and Manke - Cassidy’s universities received a $2,000 shopping spree at cdwg.com. The following pages highlight the entries from the universities.

About the Judges

A panel of judges from Purdue University’s Computer and Information Technology (CIT) department reviewed the entries for Best Business Case. The judges are:

Alka Harriger – A professor and assistant department head for Purdue University’s CIT department, Alka Harriger directs the department’s accreditation activities and oversees the department’s Industrial Advisory Board.

Stanley Roller – An assistant professor of Computer and Information Technology at Purdue University’s North Central campus, Stanley Roller teaches courses in systems analysis and design, object-oriented analysis, requirements analysis, IT management and IT systems development.

Guity Ravai – Formerly an educational specialist, Guity Ravai is a continuing lecturer at Purdue University. She designs, manages and teaches undergraduate programming courses to a wide range of students at Purdue’s main campus.