Oct 31 2006

Winners of CDW-G's IT Leadership Awards

Three institutions leverage technology to keep students engaged and learning.

The recipients of the CDW-G IT Leadership Awards in the Pedagogy & IT Practice category are John Campbell of Purdue University, Stephen Laster of Babson College and Bob Phillips of Dyersburg State Community College.

CDW•G's IT Leadership Awards celebrate technology leaders who are changing how their institutions fulfill their educational and student service missions. The recipients in the Pedagogy & IT Practice category are:

Public Institution: John Campbell, associate vice president, Department of IT Teaching and Learning Technologies, Purdue University

Private Institution: Stephen Laster, director, Curriculum Innovation and Technology Group, Babson College

Community College: Bob Phillips, dean of the Business & Technology Division, Dyersburg State Community College.

All three recipients will receive a $2,000 shopping spree at www.cdwg.com for their institutions.


A panel of judges from Duke University reviewed the entries.

Lynne O'Brien: As director of Academic Technology & Instructional Services, O'Brien champions instructional technology at Duke by leading the Center for Instructional Technology's programs and consulting with faculty, campus IT planners and academic technology groups around the country. She manages CIT's resources, including staff, the grants program and the Instructional Technology Lab.

Amy Kenyon Campbell: As assistant director and head of Faculty Services, Campbell plans, implements and assesses faculty development programs for the improvement of teaching and learning, provides programs and resources to increase understanding of the teaching-learning process, and manages personnel and other resources for the Center for Instructional Technology.

Samantha Earp: As the head of Foreign Languages Instructional Technology Support, Earp leads instructional technology efforts in the foreign languages, including management of faculty projects, supervision of the language labs and Foreign Language Technology Services staff, development of workshops and strategic planning.